Thank You, Artists!

February 9, 2009 at 5:25 pm 6 comments

Bloc Party @ SXSW 2007

Photo Credit: Kris Krug

In the next bit, I’ll be writing some posts on How (and Why) Artists are Using Social Media –  based on my research and the (over 100!) wonderful responses I received to my Artists Using Social Media Survey.

My own experiences (as an actor etc.) as well as my research into Crowdsourcing got me thinking.  As the tools become more accessible and far-reaching, more and more artists are “doing for it for themselves”, finding a place to showcase and promote themselves using social media.

This gets me excited.  To a large extent, the traditional model and system excludes those whose talent doesn’t fit the general mold.  (I wrote a bit of a diatribe against the traditional system last year in The System is Flawed (In brief: “…it is impossible to ignore the fact that rather than being a potential vehicle to bring in exciting new content and performers into the arena, the system often becomes an obstacle course – stacked strongly against originality in every form. It is less about “what you can do” than weeding people out based on assumptions about what they can’t do and what they are not.”)

But this series is not about the “can not” – it’s about how one CAN. Innovative and ambitious artists are choosing to carve out their niche, realizing that although there are many artists out there, someone with true talent, drive, determination, and the will to learn can find their place, find their fans, and hopefully a way to make their work successful (in whatever way that is measurable to them).

As I look through these fantastic responses, I want to give a huge thank you (and virtual hug, if I may be so sappy) to all the fabulous people who took the time to share their work and tactics with me:
(Click on Page 2)

Pages: 1 2

Entry filed under: Art, artist series, social media. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Low Down – Feb 2009 Finding Like-Minded People on Twitter

6 Comments Add your own

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape