Um. Wow.

November 28, 2008 at 11:41 am 7 comments

I found out that I’m nominated on Profectio’s list of Canada’s Most Influential Woman In Social Media.

Nathan Gates

Photographer: Nathan Gates

Quite frankly, I’d assume my mom nominated me – but given that this April she asked me (without a hint of irony) “Do you know you can actually buy things on the internet?”, I am making an educated assumption that she still has no idea what I do. (Love you, Mom!)

I’m very flattered and think it’s supremely sweet that I made this list. Profectio, rest assured that I will be laminating and framing the post and, quite possibly, taking it to bed with me.

Other nominees include Kate Trgovac (my bet), Miss604/Rebecca Bollwitt, Amber Mac and other highly deserving women, so I’m not being self-effacing when I say my odds of winning are as likely as that of Rob Schneider for an Oscar.

Truly, it is an honor just to be nominated.

Entry filed under: social media. Tags: , , , , , .

‘Tis the Season for Contests Eh! Wanna be my client? I got an offer you can’t refuse…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rebecca  |  November 28, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Oh you’ve influenced ME on more than one occasion, I know that! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Raul  |  November 28, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    I think it’s great that you’re nominated, and definitely most deserving.

    I hate being nominated along with other great people. It’s easier to want to win when you actually don’t like the people who are also nominated. But in this case, I can totally relate (as I’m nominated for Canadian Blog Awards and Best of 604 – and I LOVE my fellow nominees!)

    You are an inspiration and a wonderful social media guru 🙂 You’ve influenced ME as well on more than one occasion (as aptly said by Rebecca)

    Reply
  • 3. Ruth Seeley  |  November 29, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Of course you’re nominated! And if I have anything to do with it, you’re going to win too.

    You’re a writer of great skill with a singular talent for exposition. When you explain social media, it makes sense.

    I think the more immersed you become in the social media world, the less you remember that you’re among the hyper-literate. People aren’t dumb just because they don’t (or don’t ‘get’) Twitter. And you never seem to forget that. So you’ve got my vote.

    Reply
  • 4. monicahamburg  |  November 29, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Thank you so much, Rebecca, Raul and Ruth (hmmm, theme with the Rs here…?) I really appreciate your lovely words. Hmmm, will have to frame these comments and cuddle them too.

    Reply
  • 5. Jeremy Lim  |  November 30, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Voted for you because you’re lovely and you make me blush. The rest of the nominees are lovely too – just haven’t made me blush yet.

    Reply
  • […] an honor to be among the likes of Kate, Monica, and Amber – all of whom I’ve had the pleasure to meet and partake in geeky activities […]

    Reply
  • 7. monicahamburg  |  December 2, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Thanks, Jer! Making cute guys blush is a fun gift 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape