Please Sir, Can I Have Another

February 25, 2008 at 9:27 pm 5 comments

As anyone who has read my articles and posts on Crowdsourcing has likely noticed, I am fascinated by the notion, but tend to approach it with “eyes wide open”. While Crowdsourcing is exciting and inspiring, it also has its fair share of issues and drawbacks. And so, if I seem like I bounce back and forth between my enthusiasm and my concerns, I hope it is clear that I am not so much indecisive (well, it least not in this case) but simply more realistic than evangelical about the concept.

Which brings me to the concept of exploitation.

When claims of exploitation are brought up with regards to Crowdsourcing (and they are, frequently) often the counter argument is that because people willingly participate, there is no mistreatment. While “exploitation” is not exactly the word I would use, it is wrong to assume that because people contribute out of passion rather than necessity, this logically translates into balance and equity.

Here is how I would best illustrate this conundrum. Having worked as an actor, I know how often performers are expected to work for free or for very low rates, to “pay ones dues”, in assumption of future paid work (with the same company, once established), to gain exposure etc. (One might draw the parallel between this and interning – another concept I’m not in love with – but it is not an accurate comparison. While the low-to-non-existent pay scale is similar, the carrot is somewhat more accessible: There are, generally, more positions available after an internship – i.e. if 10 people are interns, the best or 2 might be eventually employed by the company. Not the same situation in film – in which future employment – regardless of hard work, ability or ambition – is, generally, a long-shot (companies may not gain funding, or may eventually disband and/or end up at different production companies). And, most frighteningly, there exists the assumption that there is often no need to pay people since there is always a pool of people vying for unpaid positions.

Many artistic fields have this issue – and so Web 2.0 has by no means “started the fire” – it is just brighter and spreads quicker. One more example: as a writer, I have been asked to produce articles at rates of 2 cents a word (80 articles would earn me my entire rent money, Yeee hah!) It may be absurd and unacceptable to me, but it is by no means rare.

“Climbling the ladder” is something most have to do – but the “low market value” is what Crowdsourcing companies and Crowdsourcers should be weary of.

“Climbing the ladder” is not the issue – having a ladder that is infinite is. “Paying dues” is often realistic, but paying forever is akin to extortion.

The critical problem exists when there is no end in sight to the game and a profession/skill-area assumes the low-no pay scale as a consistent form of compensation.

Many agree to accept low rates because at a certain point the rate becomes a market standard/industry expectation. And there comes a point where so many people are offering their work for free that the mindset for buyers becomes: “well, why would we bother to pay more if we don’t have to”.

Make no mistake that people who give into this system and offer their services for little in return are agreeing with it. They in are merely reflecting the low value placed on what they do.

Are they being exploited in the true definition of the word? Well, not exactly. They have a choice, certainly. But once the choice becomes “work or don’t work” – the “choice” becomes between the rock and the hard place.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Entry filed under: 1, crowdsourcing, Exploitation, Web 2.0. Tags: , , , , , .

Crowdsourcing and Creativity I hereby coin: “Crowdsisting”

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeremy Lim  |  February 26, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Sounds like economics to me.

    High demand, low supply, high price.

    High demand, much higher supply, low price. (http://www.benbest.com/polecon/shift.gif)

    Guh. I want to say more, but my head’s about to explode.

    Reply
  • 2. monicahamburg  |  February 26, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Jeremy: True, to some extent (certainly in the case of actors) – but strangely enough, I think the tide is shifting for writers (so many people need written materials for their businesses, blogs) etc. Call to arms for artists – just because people want to pay you less, doesn’t mean you should accept it. I love Leanne Campbell’s post on subject: http://www.imaginewrite.com/blog/?page_id=3

    Reply
  • 3. Gavin Heaton  |  February 8, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Interesting … but what if we take a non-transactional approach. That is, we view crowdsourcing not as a question of supply and demand, but as an exchange of value. If the value exchange is unequal then there is little chance of participation on either side.

    Sure, we all need to be paid for our skills, expertise and creativity – but it doesn’t all have to equate to $$.

    Reply
  • 4. monicahamburg  |  February 9, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    My concern with the value exchange concept is the perception of value. If you’re looking for work and someone offers you a non-paying job with the carrot that it will give you exposure or possible future, you may surmise that there is value in the work. When in fact there may not be.

    Reply
  • 5. Exposure or Exploitation? « Me Like The Interweb  |  January 11, 2011 at 9:18 am

    […] But back to the bad side: Fluevog gets the ad(s) created for far less than they would pay an agency to create, and the art for far less than a fair price: I think this serves to devalue at both industries. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape