Blogging for Rupiahs

April 21, 2009 at 1:17 pm 3 comments

I just read an excellent post by Penelope Trunk “8 Reasons Why You Won’t Make Money from Your Blog” which begins:

“I am actually shocked at how ubiquitous the idea is that blogging is a get-rich-quick scheme. Or even a get-rich-slowly scheme. It’s not. Blogging is a great career tool for creating opportunities for yourself.”

Thank you.  I have a brilliant friend who consistently asks me, “So are you making money yet from your blog?” When I try to explain something like, “Well, not directly, I use the blog as a marketing tool” he looks at me each time like I had just announced I was going to give up all my worldly possessions and go run a lemonade stand.

Here’s the thing. I enjoy blogging – and both of my blogs have very separate purposes – neither of which involves making money directly from the writing.

I also feel it’s OK to not make money from your blog. Getting income from your blog involves a myriad of steps including building an audience (a huge undertaking), writing very, very regularly, devoting almost full-time attention to the blog alone and much, much more.  If writing a blog was satisfying enough for me to write full-time, and if I sincerely believed I could come up with decent material daily, and if I wanted to devote my energy to building a following rather than doing the work I like to do and leading the life I want (which sometimes involves stepping away from the computer), the story would be different.

As it is, my blog goals aren’t directly monetary.  With that in mind, here are just some things a blog can do:

  • Establish your authority on a subject (I recently got a speaking gig through someone finding my blog)IMG_0521
  • Make friends & Connect with people like you
  • Engage in interesting discussion/Learn from others
  • Show yourself as 3 dimensional
  • Keep people up-to-date with what you’re doing (useful for all, especially artists with a following)

I have to admit that anytime someone comments here, or riffs on something I’ve written on DOL, or tells me I’ve made them laugh – it, in all sincerity, makes my day.  Which has loads of non-monetary value for me.

Now, I have to sign off.  There’s a lemonade stand that’s not going to build itself.

Entry filed under: blogging, Social Marketing, social media, Web 2.0. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Indie Film 2.0 now on One Degree April 24, 2009 Week in Review – on One Degree

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jonathon Narvey  |  April 24, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Exactly.

    One might as well ask, has your university degree made you any money yet? Well, not directly… but it’s given me opportunities I wouldn’t have otherwise had, with which to make money.

    Reply
  • 2. Beth  |  April 29, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Mon, did you get a speaking gig about Happytos Tortilla Chips, a subject on which you are an expert? Otherwise, I’m totally flummoxed as to the significance of the photo!

    I’m hoping that someday someone will find my blog and hire me for speaking gigs in my area of expertise – the hotness levels of professional hockey players. If you hear of anyone who needs a speaker on this topic, send them my way!

    Also, my university degrees totally make me money. I rent them out by the hour.

    Reply
  • 3. monicahamburg  |  April 29, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    @Jonathon Good point!

    @Beth Why of course! Happytos is my biggest sponsor! OK, you got me there. I was sort of implying that the blogging makes me happytos or something – but I don’t even think I know my own reasoning on why I felt that was appropriate…

    I’ll keep my eye out for those expert-essential topics! Likewise, if you hear of anyone to speak on stuff like why infomercials are blatantly insulting – do let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

