Please, You’re Way Too Subtle…

December 17, 2008 at 12:47 pm 11 comments

Today, I posted the following Tweet on my Twitter:

yerba-mate-tweet

I received the following informative reply from someone I did not know.

energy-field-cancer-comment-re-yerba-mate

Do we, I wondered?  That sure would suck.  So I took a look at this good samaritan’s Twitter stream.  I imagine this brilliant stream won’t be up for long, but in the interest of preserving EnergyFiend’s subtle approach to marketing, I have captured this screenshot.

energy-fields-stream-1

energy-fields-stream-21

I clicked two pages back – you may be surprised to find out that Energy Fiend has a one-track mind.  Apparently everything in the beverage family (except for Soyfee) can cause cancer, high cholesterol and congenital herpes (OK, I didn’t actually see that last one in the stream, but then again I only clicked back 2 pages).

Finding this was particularly pleasurable after reading Shannon Whitley’s amusing post of the “Top 10 List of People to Unfollow on Twitter” where he describes this type of Twitterer exactly (“The Pimp”).

I’m a marketer myself, but I make the assumption that the people I market to have a brain.  Tactics like these insult potential consumers. And using scare and smear tactics which attack other products to sell your own are in a word “gross” and in two words:”really gross”.

Entry filed under: marketing - general, social media, twitter, Web 2.0. Tags: , , , .

Wassup? Check out One Degree One-track Mind

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gusf  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Doesn’t everything cause cancer now-a-days anyways?🙂

    I had her comment on my tweet about Yerba Mate before as well.

    Plus take a look at their Twitter profile photo. I can just picture them screaming into your ear saying that as well. SCARY!🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth Seeley  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Yesterday a respected local PR firm Tweeted to ask folks what they thought of back and forth attack ads. I replied that anyone who’s wasting their marketing and advertising spend talking about the other guy is wasting their money.

    Amusing though the PC/Mac ads are, they make me less willing to invest in a Mac, much as I would really like one. The combination of the huge difference in the prices and the fact that I’m starting to feel really sorry for PC guy is driving me to a brand allegiance I can’t actually justify in intellectual terms.

    Having said that, Fiend seems like a totally appropriate name for this entity.

    P.S. Drinking 8 glasses of water a day while consuming vast quantities of sodium will lead to bloating – word to the wise.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Maurice Cardinal  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    Sometimes there is good reason to reveal the other side of the story no matter how unsavory.

    How you do it is directly proportional to how it is received.

    Timing is also very important.

    You have to know when to blow, when to suck, when to spit and when to swallow. lol

    Reply
  • 4. Sharon Stone PHD  |  December 17, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    I was quite grateful for those tweets. I never new about yerba mate being so dangerous until I read the reports. I am enjoying a delicious cup of french vanilla soyfee as I type. Who knows, maybe energyfiend saved my life. Bravo!

    Reply
  • 5. monicahamburg  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    @”Sharon Stone PHD” – Awesome. Your spam stays up. It’s just that good.

    @Maurice Very, very true.

    @RuthSeeley Your unexpected alliance with PC due to feeling sorry for the PC guy is both funny – and good information.

    @GusF She reminds me of Susan Powter. And I am currently hiding under my bed – while drinking a nice, warm delicious cup of french vanilla soyfee as I cower. Bravo!

    Reply
  • 6. Ruth Seeley  |  December 17, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Ha – I used to be awakened sometimes when I’d fallen asleep with the TV on by Susan Powter screaming, “Stop the Insanity!” Although once it was an actual Tasmanian devil shrieking at me from the Discovery Channel.🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jess  |  December 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Those types are out there. Good thing with the web is it becomes way easier to identify the losers.

    Love the post. (little worried about the congenital herpes)

    Reply
  • 8. One-track Mind « Me Like The Interweb  |  December 19, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    […] 19, 2008 I’m beginning to get something of a one-track mind […]

    Reply
  • 9. Beth  |  December 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I mentioned coffee the other day and got her “Caffeine is linked to blahblahblah” tweet in reply. I didn’t actually check her Twitterfeed like you did and replied something about some recent studies showing that, in certain individuals, coffee has actually been shown to *reduce* the risk of heart disease. I mean, I like to think I know a thing or two about nutrition, what with having a PhD in the subject. Her reply was that those studies are paid for by coffee companies and that I can get the “truth” at her site. Sigh.

    Reply
  • 10. monicahamburg  |  December 19, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Ah, the “gal” is a loon. Luckily I went to @Energyfiend’s Twitter feed today and was met with:

    “the account you were headed to has been suspended due to strange activity.”

    Thank you, Twitter!

    Reply
  • […] and tell me what you think made that happen. The prediction from eMarketer Daily is that Web Please, You’re Way Too Subtle… – monicahamburg.wordpress.com 12/17/2008 December 17, 2008 Today, I posted the following Tweet on […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

