WOM – tastier

August 12, 2008 at 10:14 am 3 comments

Over at My Name is Kate, Kate describes how she chose 4 of her recent hotel stays and notes: “None of my purchasing decisions were made based on information through “traditional” marketing channels.”

In fact, one of the hotels was recommended by her friend. Word of mouth – and now, in social media flavor: GigPark is a “social recommendation website” which allows you to find “trusted service people your friends use” (sort of a Linkedin for services).

Like many, most of my recommendations come from friends. I don’t have a TV (no, really… Perhaps we get an idea of why my acting career didn’t take off) and rarely listen to radio, so I don’t have all that much exposure to traditional advertising. As per my last post, “in your face” (or rather, “down your throat”) advertising only turns me off. If I want to know what to get, I ask someone I trust.

So while I haven’t yet tried GigPark, I love the concept. Now if someone I knew was just using it…

Entry filed under: advertising, marketing - general, social media. Tags: , , , , .

Do You Mind? Me Like the Breaktime #1

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Noah Godfrey  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Hey Monica,

    I’m glad you like the concept of GigPark. And I see that you’ve now joined – welcome!

    Finding friends is really easy on GigPark – you can check your email contacts or see if any of your Facebook friends are using it. And if you want to include more friend in on the fun, you easily can invite them to GigPark.

    I know you are in Vancouver and I’m in Toronto but please feel free to add me as a friend too – http://www.gigpark.com/people/noahgodfrey

    Have fun! And if you have any thoughts about how we can make GigPark better for you, please let me know – noah AT gigpark DOT com.

    Noah Godfrey
    Founder, GigPark

    Reply
  • 2. monicahamburg  |  August 12, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Hi Noah! Thanks so much for commenting.

    I was being cheeky re: the friends comment – I actually noticed that I do have a few friends on the site & will certainly add you too!

    Much appreciated.

    Reply
  • 3. Larry Yatkowsky  |  August 12, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Yah see you got friends. I told you the world luvz yah! :>)

    scoot over to narvey’s i be having fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

