Yeah, I wish

July 15, 2008 at 11:39 am 1 comment

I’ve been on a reading kick of late and am running out of books I’ve heard of that I want… Having gone through the Amazon “People who purchased this item also bought” tool and discovering little of interest, I Googled “Book Recommendations” and found the following:

What Should I Read Next?

You enter some books you like and it recommends other books you might enjoy (or you can see other people’s reading lists that have a few favorite matches to see if there is anything that may be of interest).

For what it’s worth, this tool actually recommended a book I had read and enjoyed, so that’s something. And it came up with another than someone else had recommended I read. But, so far, the books suggested seem a bit too technical for me. While I have been enjoying books on behavioral economics, it has mainly been due to their informal tone and wonderful writing style. So, What Should I Read Next, thanks for assuming I have the attention span for technical or theoretical business books. I don’t.

(Anyone know of other similar tools?)

But here’s something cool – the site then provides a link where you can swap old books/movies. Bingo!

chanceXchange

I’m just inputting the books I have now, but am very intrigued by the site. It appears to work like this: when someone asks for a book you have, you send it to them and receive a point for the transaction. Then you use that point to get a book (possibly from another user!)

Now, I think this would work even better with people you know. So here’s my request from Vancouverites – enter the books you want to exchange at chanceXchange and save your local peeps the postage costs of sending a hardcover clear across our expansive country…

Entry filed under: crowdsourcing, Web 2.0. Tags: , , .

Predictably Irrational Summer Contest – Make it a Double

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Zuning to the Newies! « Me Like The Interweb  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:14 am

    […] I’m really psyched about trying the Zune out for a myriad of reasons, one of which is that I want to listen to more podcasts and watch more tech shows. Also, I take public transit (no, really…) and this will be a nice alternative to reading (especially since I’m presenting without a cool book). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

