“6 Ways Social Media Can Improve Your Life” – now on PicktheBrain

June 13, 2008 at 9:22 am 4 comments

Here’s a teaser:

“…there was a time before we had the “tubes” of the internet. And before social media. But you can put all those years of inefficiency and dismay behind you, because that time has passed.

So you are probably wondering how does social media improve my life? Here are just a few benefits:

Read the full article here.

Entry filed under: social media, Web 2.0. Tags: , , .

Social Media & NonProfits: Make it Easy for Your Fans to Help You Me Need Info 1 Place

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darren Daz Cox  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I just came to your site for the first time and the first thing I see is you asking me to go somewhere else, if I didn’t trust the link that got me here I’d write your blog off as spam.

    At least tell me why you think that link is worth me going to “social media hints” isn’t enough any more for me to blindly visit, I have my trusted social media sources already.

    Reply
  • 2. monicahamburg  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Hi Darren,

    I realized, once Peter had posted the article, that I (in general) didn’t want people to go to my old website (as I’m revamping that). I figured that redirecting people to this blog – specifically to the “About” page which gives information about what I do (generally what people are looking for when they go to my website) would be a good course of action.

    I also assumed that writing a more detailed explanation on my site would be talking too much (which is something I tend to do anyway!🙂 – which is why I wrote on my website: “This site is getting an overhaul! I’M REDIRECTING YOU TO MY BLOG for now. You should be able to find everything you need there (well, with regards to me at least🙂.” And then redirected in 5 seconds – rather than automatically redirecting.

    I understand your concern, Darren – but unfortunately I choose the best possible action I could think of. If you have better suggestions, please feel free to let me know. And thank you for taking the time to comment.

    Reply
  • 3. Darren Daz Cox  |  June 16, 2008 at 11:01 am

    talking too much? it’s a blog right? You say your opinion and convince me of something. simply saying “read it here” might be good enough for your friends who already have a relationship with you and your blog but I’m new.

    This is poor social networking! at least give me a link to a site I already trust like your twitter etc, and you are a writer? well, “read it here” doesn’t sell that idea to me!

    I don’t know who Peter is, I came here from a link posted by Jeff Pulver who encouraged me, his reader, to visit. It’s only because I trust Jeff that I’d bother to tell you my honest opinion. I’m just wondering how many readers you lost today from the bad or at best, bland first impression you give here?

    Reply
  • 4. monicahamburg  |  June 16, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Wow… OK, Darren – I’m feeling like I jumped into an argument of which I missed part of… OK, so we’re back on track. You don’t like that I just wrote “read it here”. I though that was simple – but you have a point there. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Top Posts

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

