Oversight? Situational Irony? You Got Me…

February 7, 2008 at 3:46 am 7 comments

Boy, this post looks strangely familiar…

Oh wait, it’s mine, but there is no mention of my name or link to my post. I just sent them an email about the oversight. Hopefully it’ll be remedied in a few hours (I’ll give them that since they are in the UK). If not, perhaps some of you might want to mention you saw the post elsewhere🙂

Update – Feb 7 – 5:15am: Hey – see the tiny “mention” of my name at the end… Where….? See, the one that states way below the content and the links, “Thanks to: Monica Hamburg”. No link to me, not even clear what I did… Perhaps it’s “Thanks to Monica for not claiming plagiarism?”. Yeah, that’s not a credit. And it’s not good enough. Note: they didn’t even bother to contact me to apologize. All of which makes it seem as though they are trying to pass the material off as their own.

Here’s the email I sent them.

I can see that you “added” my name, but this most certainly does not make it clear that the content is mine, nor that I wrote it. Please remove the post immediately – unless you are prepared to do the following:

1) Begin the post by CLEARLY STATING that it was written by me

2) Giving a link to the actual post in this exact manner: This article was written by Monica Hamburg on her blog, Me Like the Interweb, https://monicahamburg.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/behold-the-power-of-facebook-for-business/

I will be taking appropriate action if this is not performed in 2hrs.

Monica Hamburg

The odd thing is, I am flattered when people reproduce my content. People can feel free to quote me, or ask me if they can reproduce the entire post (in some case, I’m OK with that.) But not crediting me appropriately and not bothering to link back to the original post. Nope, not OK with that. I worked very hard to provide good content. They, obviously, did not. A few clicks and a copy & paste sufficed for them. (Which is pretty sad since “The 7th Chamber” is apparently a legitimate viral marketing company. )

I guess I should be somewhat flattered, if only since this gets me closer to being like “Kris Krug”😉 .

Update – Feb 7 – 5:49am: They emailed me to say the following:”Sorry for any offence caused. We use this blog as an archive of stories we find interesting.”

There’s now just a link to my blog post on their blog.

Well, al-riiighty then… Wow.

Note: I found out about their post originally because my friend saw the content and emailed me. You’d think, if there’s anyone who understands how social media works, it’s a VIRAL MARKETING COMPANY?!! Guess not…

So here’s the lesson for those who missed the memo: The web has eyes… and legs.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Entry filed under: social media. Tags: , .

Fun Examples of Crowdsourcing Rockin’ to the MAX (er, MIXX)

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacob Atchison  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:28 am

    If they don’t have your permission to reproduce the content:

    http://automattic.com/dmca/

    Since you are both hosted on wordpress.com you can also send a message to them:

    http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/05/07/ive-seen-a-blog-with-unsuitable-content-how-do-i-tell-you/

    This is the only recourse we have when people rip our content. Some people are flattered, others get outraged.

    Reply
  • 2. Des Walsh  |  February 7, 2008 at 11:11 am

    It’s breach of copyright. Even if they add your name, which it appears they have, they have no right to just reproduce your post without your approval.

    Reply
  • 3. monicahamburg  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Thanks so much, Jacob and Des. I appreciate you reading & the great advice. They have less than 1.5 hrs before I take action🙂

    Reply
  • 4. jenjend  |  February 7, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    It looks like they’ve removed the post altogether and simply left a link back to yours. I think it is hilarious that they were caught.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. The Internet has Eyes | Out-Smarts Marketing Services  |  February 8, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    […] alerting her, Monica immediately went into action with a great email she offered up on her site that others can use in dealing with situations like […]

    Reply
  • 6. Plagiarists Blog Off! | Out-Smarts Marketing Services  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    […] in fine Monica Hamburg fashion – we set to correcting the situation with a well worded comment demanding the error be corrected. […]

    Reply
  • 7. Illa Galeas  |  June 1, 2016 at 1:19 am

    Enjoyed looking at this, very good stuff, regards . “What the United States does best is to understand itself. What it does worst is understand others.” by Carlos Fuentes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

