I love you! Why won’t you come to me…

January 8, 2008 at 5:57 am 1 comment

Dear Makers of Ambient Umbrella (er, I guess that would be Ambient),umbrelladetails-pic.png

As you know, here is just a brief description of your awesome product:

“If rain is forecast, the handle of this umbrella glows so you won’t forget it. The Ambient Umbrella continuously displays forecast data for 150 U.S. locations.

Embedded in the handle is Ambient’s wireless data-radio. This chip receives accuweather.com data and pulses when rain is forecast.”

And it gets data for what? Oh, U.S. locations…

Why do you torment me so? I live in Vancouver, B.C. In Canada. You make an UMBRELLA and don’t market it to a city oft referred to as “Raincouver”?! I think we had 45 consecutive days of rain last year (hey, maybe I don’t need one of these devices, after all… Maybe just instaling an umbrella to my stomach or in some Inspector Gadget Manner would solve my problem entirely…)

In any case, you’re missing a wonderful target demographic….

Now, almost 125 bucks may be a little steep for me personally (unless the device comes with some sort of handcuff device to keep me from losing it) – but hey, one day, drunk and rained-on, I’d give in.

I have have a credit card after all…

Entry filed under: advertising, marketing - general. Tags: , , , , , , .

I’ll Tell You What I Want – What I Really, Really Want Thank you, Netchick!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. monicahamburg  |  January 8, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I received the following reply from Ambient. Very gracious and detailed. Fingers crossed.

    ______

    Dear Monica ,

    Products from Ambient Devices, such as the Ambient Stock Orb or Five Day
    Weather Forecaster, currently are only sold by US retailers and depend on
    signals from the Ambient Information Network, a wireless network in the United
    States. Before Ambient Devices products can be widely used in Canada, we will
    have to partner with a Canadian wireless service provider, which we hope to do
    in the coming months.

    If you would like to be notified of the availability of our service in Canada,
    please sign up for our “Ambient Devices in Canada” mailing list at
    http://visitor.constantcontact.com/optin.jsp?m=1011148105295

    Locations in Canada that are within about 15 km of US population centers, such
    as Windsor, Fort Erie, Niagara Falls, or Langley may find that the current US
    signal is sufficiently strong for an Ambient Devices product to operate. If
    you wish to try this option, US retailers including Brookstone (using the
    Borderfree service,
    http://www.brookstone.com/service/service.asp?cust_serv_id=250 ) and Thinkgeek
    ( http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/electronic/5da2/ ) will ship Ambient
    Devices products to Canada. We cannot guarantee service coverage in these
    areas, and these devices currently produced for use in the US will probably
    never work throughout Canada. However, we have had enough interest from
    Canadian customers that we mention the option.

    – Amber, Customer Support


    Ambient Devices Customer Support

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

