Web 2.0 Communication – Truly a 2-way Street

November 13, 2007 at 8:45 pm 2 comments

Just some quick thoughts on this (as I get excited🙂 ):

In my Views on Social Networking post awhile back I expressed my love for the social networking revolution. Well, I felt that surge again…

I come across many insightful blog posts, but lately something has impressed me even more than the posts themselves: the comments section. In a few cases, I have noticed a real response from companies, with them getting involved in the conversation and offering to remedy the problem or asking for further suggestions for improvement.

Aside from the fact that the responses were so rapid – it’s the actual fact that there was a response from the party that was so wonderfully impressive. It’s exciting to see that companies are indeed interested in feedback and taking action accordingly. Prior to the social networking advent it was often very difficult to get a message to these people, let alone, a response.

So we all keep repeating that blogging and Web 2.0 in general is changing the face of communication – but check out these posts for actual proof.

  1. The Idea Shower – Block Facebook Beacon
  2. One Degree – DMC: Mark Hurst from Creative Good on Reducing Info Clutter

Entry filed under: Social Marketing. Tags: , , , , .

Blogging Relations Wow – You have totally missed the point

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeremy Lim  |  December 14, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Once, I had the opportunity to give a CEO (Michael Pole, from Trilogy Studios) a ride to the airport.

    Then I blogged about it. To my surprise, he popped in and said thanks for the help.

    Are you familiar with Google Alerts? That’s how a lot of people keep tabs on what people are saying about their companies.

    Reply
  • 2. monicahamburg  |  December 15, 2007 at 2:20 am

    Hi Jeremy,

    Thanks for your comment.

    It’s great to know CEOs are listening. Yes, I do know about Google Alerts (use it for myself and for blogs). Way back in the olden days though we’d be lucky if we got a response (let alone a personal one) when we sent a letter to the company. Now these blogs are a great way for people to give their feedback and for the companies to see where they stand.

    I think it’s exciting, frankly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

