Forcing viral

October 10, 2007 at 10:07 pm 3 comments

Sigh. I’d like to steal from Team America Word Police and say that the following misses the point more than Michael Bay when he made Pearl Harbour.

I just got an email (mass) from 20th Century Fox for a film they are trying to hype. (I won’t mention the film since I don’t want to encourage this behavior.) Their attempt at making the trailer go viral is to encourage people to put the trailer on their own personal webpage (MySpace, Facebook etc.) in order to enter to win a big prize.

The trailer is fairly unintrusive, but I guess that’s not really the point. There is nothing that will propel this to really go viral, in my opinion. Sure, some people will post in the hopes of winning, but most prefer not to whore out their profile (even their MySpace, gaudy as they generally are). And especially not their Facebook one which generally serves both a business and personal function…

And even those who put it up: so someone sees it – then what? The movement dies there since the trailer isn’t intriguing enough (read: at all) for them to pass it on, or even see the film – which should logically be the final intention…

I’m interested in seeing how this turns out… Any thoughts?

Entry filed under: contests, Viral Marketing. Tags: , , , , .

How to Catch the Bug – A Crash Course on Viral Dick in a Box Pops up Everywhere

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] The other day I get another email from 2oth Century Fox.  Considering how I felt about their last foray into viral marketing, I was […]

    Reply
  • 2. compassioninpolitics  |  January 20, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Interesting post…

    The line between forcing and facilitating is certainly a gray one. I think the better contest might have been for people who emailed it to friends (via their own branded form). That way, at every point along the communication chain, people are spreading the Fox message. It also means that more people than just bloggers are empowered to be involved.

    I also think there is a smaller threshold between sending a video to three of your friends than to posting it on your blog. People sometime are very protective about the content of their blogs. They want to have a consistent voice and subject matter–participating in a contest like this would buck that goal for probably greater than 50% of bloggers (and even higher for those high up on the Technorati food chain who derive great profit directly or indirectly from their blogging).

    I’m curious how successful this contest was as well as what bait they used (ie the prize).

    Reply
  • 3. monicahamburg  |  January 24, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Thanks for reading and for the great comments, Nathan.

    I like the way you think. I do feel it would have been better for them to try to get people to email around – but they still would have needed a better trailer. This one told you nothing – and wasn’t the least bit engaging.

    I absolutely agree with you. I might send a video to some of my friends that relates to a contest – but I don’t really want to post it unless it’s really impressive. And your comment about consistency is spot on – often your blog and profile are (or are part of) your brand and you don’t want to add another brand to that.

    I too am curious re the contest. I might look into it again at some point…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

