Integrating Twitter into Your Life

March 12, 2009 at 9:00 am 2 comments

When I mention Twitter to people not on it, they often say they simply have no idea what they would tweet about.  The best advice I think I give people is:

Find a way to make conversing on Twitter a part of your life.

If you view Twitter as an open communication channel (to your friends and beyond) that you can simply tap in anytime you like – that understanding can make the process quite natural – and possibly less intimidating.

What to talk about?*

Consider this, in a given day, do you sometimes:

  • See something interesting and think “I have to remember to tell my friend about this!”
  • Read an intriguing article or news item on the web?
  • Have an odd experience? (At the library? On transit?)
  • Do something that might interest one or more other human

Any of these can make interesting tweets and give people insight into your life.  Which is sort of the point.

Privacy?

Everyone’s line of privacy or disclosure is different.  I am very private about certain things, and seemingly reckless when it comes to others.  But I’m actually fairly tactical. I know what I’m OK with people knowing and hearing from me.***

The spectrum is quite broad.  You have to gage what you are comfortable disclosing and what you think (and here’s a key thing) people you want to interact with would want to know.  Some post mostly about business, Some mostly personal.  I think aiming for some balance on this is great.  Allowing others to have a window into your personal life and thoughts is useful – it helps establish relationships.

I’ve found that when I met twitters in real life the ice was already broken.  It was far easier to have conversations from a point at which we already kind of knew each other.


How Much to Disclose
?

And being interesting and intriguing helps maintains people’s gaze.  But how interesting…?

If you want to open your circle of friends/followers, and so keep your tweets unsecured (read: public), you are for all intents and purposes, in public. Even if you only have 20 people following, anyone can check out your page and a search can easily turn up your tweet.

So, here’s my line (and, again, mine alone):  If it’s something I would be comfortable saying at a party, it passes the test.

How Much is Too Much

In real life, revealing too much can make even broadminded strangers uncomfortable.

Consider these examples:****

Just at the bank… Why do I always end up behind the guy who is making all his deposits for the year?“= Good

Had an abortion this week.“= Bad

or

Dating can be so frustrating sometimes.” = Nice Break-the-Ice Level

I’m going through a divorce and my wife is making me sleep our backyard.” = Awkward Glass-Shattering Level

or

Hey Tom: Time for Coffee Today?” = Yes.

Hey Tom: You are a DECEPTIVE motherfucker! Why aren’t you calling me back?” = No.

istock_000007178358xsmall1

Again, this is just my opinion.

Wait – No, it’s not.

________

Notes
:

*(More suggestions about what to tweet about here and here)

**These you can even text it (or email) from your phone, if you like) as it happens!

***(or at least I think I do:)

****While I have heard of something similar to the third example happening on Twitter, the second was uttered by a guy who I just met for a dialect coaching  session and the first was said to me (rather cheerily, in fact, by a girl I didn’t know in a film criticism class.  (I think I asked if she wanted a french fry.)

Share/Save/Bookmark

Integrating Twitter into Your Life” by Monica Hamburg

Entry filed under: Social Marketing, social media, twitter. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Where In The World is Monica Hamburg? Indie Film 2.0 now on One Degree

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monica Hamburg – Who Am I?

Good question (I wonder this all the time).
Linkedin profile is: here.
Find out more here.

Our Twitter for Business Workshops

I also offer Social Media Audits and a Twitter for Business Workshop (along with other services). For more information click here.

"The Twitter workshop opened my eyes to a whole new way of doing business. Terrific advice on how to best use twitter to create new business."

- Steve Rosenberg , Founder and Instructor, Pull Focus Films

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. I love attention - so feel free to quote me - as long as you, as above, attribute it to me (and only use a few lines of text). If you would like to use more, please contact me. Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

